Are You Brand Loyal?

My favorite brand of blueberries EVER!

I’m over at my friend D’s apartment doing my personal assistant work (i.e. cleaning, blogging, and following Hurricane Sandy coverage), and decided to take a break to enjoy the snack I brought; a banana and a tablespoon (or so) of peanut butter. But not just any peanut butter.  It’s Smart Balance Rich Roast Creamy Peanut Butter with Omega 3’s from Flax Oil.  I could have simply eaten the peanut butter that D has in his cabinet, but I like that one.

Perhaps there is some clue there why I’m almost always over in my grocery budget. Because I’m pretty brand loyal about many things.

D and I are very different that way. If he wants yogurt, he checks the weekly ads and sees what yogurt is on sale. It doesn’t matter if one has a lot of sugar, or aspartame, or if it’s greek or non-greek, he will buy what is on sale. Me, I buy plain non-fat Fage…always. I mean I’m happy when it’s on sale, but if not, I’ll still buy it if I want it.

I do this with other products too, whether they are on sale or not. When it comes to things like spaghetti sauce or salsa, I look to see which has the most natural ingredients and the least amount of sugar, or make sure there isn’t any high fructose corn syrup in it (it’s amazing how many products contain it).

I buy the same kind of oatmeal, blueberries, soda (if I’ve fallen off the wagon), granola bars, crackers, etc. I literally can walk into the grocery store if I was blind and find all of my favorite products.

Now it’s not in all cases. Oddly I like the same hair care products, but will mix and match cosmetics and other facial beauty care products.  And I buy a lot of generic things as well (actually my oatmeal is generic, but I always buy that same kind).

So readers, are you brand loyal? If so, what brands do you always buy no matter what the cost? 

35 thoughts on “Are You Brand Loyal?

  1. I’m brand loyal. In the end, I have tried the generic brands and haven’t been satisfied. However, if I’m watching my budget, I will do generic. I love Kellog’s Frosted Flakes. I do buy walmart milk. It’s the same milk.
    Hair products- brand.

  2. We’re not that brand loyal when it comes to certain foods but wait for sales on the items were are loyal to like my Hellman’s Mayo. We make alot from scratch so that helps as well. Other things we will pay for quality as we hate to spend our money twice. If we can get something that is 100.00 more but will last a few years rather than the 100.00 less product that will last 1 year then we will pay for the more expensive one. Research on products is good, reviews .. before we buy. Mr.CBB

  3. I buy almost everything generic when it comes to groceries. However, when it comes to beauty products, I’m pretty brand loyal. I have sensitive/combination skin (lucky me, I know), so there are only certain brands of skin care products that I find are effective. Almost all my make-up is Clinique, because I find their products actually match the shade of my skin tone.

  4. I’m hardcore brand loyal for Stonyfield Farms yogurts. It’s weird, but I was eating a cup of their yogurt once and got so inspired that I sat down at my computer and wrote them a thank you note. Wouldn’t you know it, but they sent me several coupons for free yogurt in the mail! It felt like free money!

    There are brands I like and brands I love. The brands I love almost always have a company philosophy that I like such as social responsibility or higher quality standards.

    Just stumbled across your blog this morning and I’m really digging it. Looking forward to reading more of your posts in the future 🙂

  5. my brand loyalty is generally driven by healthiness.. if i find a brand that is a healthy alternative then i tend to stick with it.. that smart balance PB is a great example, altho there are now many more natural peanut butters available.. the same thing happened recently with a bacon/hot dog option that didn’t include any nitrates as preservatives..

    -j-

  6. Interesting question. Now I am brand loyal for certain products. Toothpaste, deodrant, some foods, sauces etc. But for other food products and household items (toilet roll, shampoo, vegetables etc.) I will buy whatever is on the best offer. I guess this is a very personal thing right?

  7. I am very brand loyal. Like yourself, every time I go to the grocery store I know where everything is that I want and could shop with my eyes closed :). Some of my products which I will not exchange for other brands are Kashi granola bars, Fibre 1 plain cereal, Source Vanilla Yogurt, certain types of crackers, chicken, pasta sauce, pasta, deodorants (Dove), even perfume, I have 2 which I love and just alternate between those.

  8. I’m not very brand loyal except when it comes to soda (or pop or whatever you call it). Other than that I just buy whatever is on sale.

      • I figure if I am going to be bad I am going to be bad and get regular Coke. I think I got the habit from my grandmother who would literally bring her own can of Coke to a restaurant if she knew they only served Pepsi.

  9. I have used Maybelline mascara since high school and have never wavered. How many years has it been? Clinton was in his first term, k? Talk about brand loyalty! 🙂 I just like the way it makes my eyes look.

  10. I’d never thought about this. I AM brand loyal, but only when it saves me time. I don’t want to think about every little thing every day, so I go back to brands that have treated me right in the past.

  11. I’m not really brand loyal because I think a particular brand is better than the other. I’m typically brand loyal because once I’ve found a product that works/tastes good/isn’t filled with chemicals, it’s much easier to just get that product again than to spend time reading labels. So I guess I’m brand loyal out of convenience, not out of a sense of affection or loyalty to a logo or company. Good post!

  12. I’m not brand loyal, but I won’t buy something else simply because it’s on sale. I’ve discovered some products you can buy the store brand, and others not so much! I am afraid once a product has lost my respect I generally don’t give it another chance.

  13. If there is a supermarket version, sometimes I buy it. Toilet paper, paper towels, I can buy any brand. I’m like Jordann, I stick with products I know work. The more personal the item, the more loyalty: eg face wash, hair care. I may prefer UPS service over FedEx or Post Office but price can be a driver (eg $23 via UPS vs $7 USPS).

  14. When it involves groceries I usually go generic. Ditto for over-the-counter drugs. No point paying more for brand label stuff that basically is of comparable quality. That said, however, I am true blue brand loyal when it comes to my choice in coffee. No other substitutes will do for me, especially in the early morning.

  15. Good idea for a post. We’re brand loyal onvery few things when it comes to groceries. It helps us stretch our grocery budget further which is big. It does take time though to discover which generics are just as good, or which ones are just crap and not worth the money.

  16. Pingback: Mr.CBB’s Weekly Blog Post Picks Nov 2,2012 « Canadian Budget Binder

Leave a comment