Week in Review-7/22/12

Shot of pro beach vball this weekend. You’re welcome.

Hey everyone! How was your weekend? I hope it was good. I don’t know about you, but for me it went by way too fast!

I spent Friday & Saturday  watching pro beach volleyball (actual name & location not written to prevent googling). It’s always inspiring to these awesome players as motivation to improve my own game. BTW, to put things in height perspective, the player in the pic (2nd from the left) is 7’1.

Anyway to recap my past week, here is a list of of some good things, and some not so good things.

The Good

1. I was honored to reach so many of you this past week with my piece, Blazing Your Own Trail. Very good feeling!

2. Old boss stopped by my apt on Friday. He had a meeting with the place where we almost had the full time job, and told me there might be another opportunity for a long-term contract, or possibly full time again. He would not be involved though, which makes me sad. I’m staying rather even-keeled about this news, because I know anything can change on a dime. Right now I’m just staying open to any and all possibilities. But of course I’ll keep you posted. The most I’ve done so far is email the contact, and I’m trying to set up a meeting.

3. Staying in budget, although with nine days left to go, it’s going to be incredibly tight once again with the food and entertainment/household expenses. One thing I definitely have to do next month is start writing every single purchase down, to see where I need to plug some holes in the coming months.

4. Have a group interview (not exactly sure what that means) at The Container Store on Tuesday night for possible part time employment. Like I said in #2, I’m open to any and all possibilities, however, if they don’t have a 5am-9am shift open, I really can’t see myself working there, because I need daytime hours free for my freelance business. Anyway, can’t hurt to go find out a little more.

5. I’m currently reading The Money Book for Freelancers, Part-Timers, and the Self-Employed. It’s a great book and it’s really helping me look at my budget in a new way based on the variable monthly income that us freelancers have.

6. Meditated every day except one.

7. Have enough money in my checking account to cover the really slow work I’ve had in July. So not feeling really stressed about it, as long as August picks up, which there is buzz right now from my producers that it will.

The Not So Good

1. Although I did a little exercise each day, it was cut way back because of a chest-cold and bad cough. I’m feeling restless and ready to start running again this week and feeling back in shape.

2. I’m working on a project right now which is pretty cool, but that I’m not really getting paid anything for. I’m having a hard time being motivated. Not sure if it’s because I’ve been out of work mode for a bit, or the fact that my apt has been pretty hot this past week and it’s making me feel sluggish. Either way I need to step on the gas this week.

3. Didn’t sleep well this past week, mainly because of the aggravating cough. That could explain why I was having a hard time working as well.

My goals this week are to follow up with that job lead (and hopefully book it), get a lot of exercise, finish the project mentioned in #2, and get ready for a fun 4’s volleyball tournament this Saturday. It’s a HUGE tournament in these parts, and my first one since last October (although it’s a fun tournament & not really a competitive one like I’ve done in the past).

That’s about it! I hope you all have a great week!

Another vantage point of the match.

16 thoughts on “Week in Review-7/22/12

  1. I totally understand how the “no exercising” thing can be aggravating! I pulled a muscle in my back exercising recently (Tae Bo, you got the best of me). It has finally gone away and I can now get back to working out. Exercising clears my head.

    Good luck with the job lead! I hope everything works out 🙂

  2. Ugh I hate not exercsisng too! But if you’re sick you don’t want to push back recovery time so make sure you’re better! Sending good thoughts your way for the group interview and the maybe full time job. (Group interviews are okay-I’ve been on them two or three times)

  3. I haven’t been able to run for the better part of the month thanks to a pretty wicked ankle sprain. It is just so frustrating. I did keep up with strength training, but I really want to get my cardio much better and I don’t have access to a pool to use instead of running.

    I have only been to one group interview and walked out, but that was because the job was more sales related than I wanted to do, not because the experience itself was bad.

  4. Do you run in the sand? If so, barefoot or shod? If the latter, does the sand in your shoes bother you? When I do it, the sand pile in my shoes annoys me and I have to dump it out. And I hate to stop during a run; breaks my mental stride.
    Thx! 🙂

  5. Okay so funny, but I can’t wait for your interview at The Container Store! 😛 That schedule sounds fabulous too… I like working in the early mornings and having the rest of my afternoon to do as I please. Well, I would be okay with doing regular work at home in the afternoon!

    Also I’ll be at the beach next week…for 3 days! I will try running on the beach barefoot. Sounds liberating.

Leave a comment